Spain win Euro 2008


Spain win Euro 2008

Spain beat Germany last night to take the Henri Delaunay trophy as they were crowned winners of the European Championships. Liverpool striker Fernando Torres scorred in the 33rd minute beating the German keeper Jens Lehmann. It was only the second time in the history of the tournament that the winning team won every match in the group stage; the other team to do so was France in 1984.

Coach Luis Aragones who has stepped down from his position prased Torres’ speed:

“Fernando is a great player for Liverpool and for our team and he can go anywhere because he has really extraordinary speed and he knows how to dribble,”

It was Torres’ speed which allowed him to take the lead for Spain who, despite lots more chances only scorred once.  Germanys only shot on target was saved by Casillas. Spain had 6 shots on target in one of the most one-sided Euro Finals in recent times.


No Responses Yet to “Spain win Euro 2008”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: