Fond Travel Memories: Delhi

05Feb10

I often use this blog to talk about all the places in the world I would like to visit but for some reason I don’t blog much about where I have been. Perhaps it’s because I’m a more forward thinking person or perhaps it is because I haven’t been to as many exciting places as I would like to have. I recently caught up with an old friend who I hadn’t seen since high school and I was reminded of the time we traveled together. I went on every school trip there was at school thanks to the generosity of my parents so I have lots of memories of traveling with school friends including about 10 visits to France! As well as popping over the channel I also visited more exotic places such as India.

A school trip to India might seem a little unusual but it was actually run by an outside company (the name of which escapes me) who work in conjunction with schools. Those who wished to go had to fund the trip and run the day to day organization, there where adults with us but they didn’t take charge. This meant that we had to do a lot of fund raising and each had to take turns running the expedition. We traveled around northern India including a two week hike through the Himalayas.

Our original plan was to find a flight to Mumbai but we soon discovered that getting from Mumbai to the Himalayas in the north would take far too long so we booked a flight to Delhi. I will never forget stepping out of New Delhi airport into the 40+°C heat and taking a taxi through one of the most spectacular cities in the world. The culture shock was extreme, here I was aged 18 in a city which couldn’t have been any more different from my sleepy home town in rural England.

Unfortunately I didn’t take many photos whilst in India although I did get a few rolls of film (remember that?). I was too busy taking in everything around me to take enough photos but I will try to dig out those I do have to post here at some point. It would be great to see them again and try and remember in more detail what it was like to be in such an extreme and different country.

No Responses Yet to “Fond Travel Memories: Delhi”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

